Band Awards 2017

Theatre Royal Wakefield Tickets Now On Sale
25th November 2017
Band Deliver Presents for Christmas
29th December 2017
Show all

Band Awards 2017

After yet another successful year for Crofton Silver Band it was that time again for band to sit back, celebrate and enjoy a nice Curry as 2017 comes to a close.

As is tradition, the band presents its annual awards too, celebrating the individuals in the band that have made a difference both on and off the stage.

First up are the prizes as chosen by our Musical Director Dean Jones who had the tough job of picking the Player of the Year and Most Improved player.

This years Player of the Year went to our Solo Trombone player Andrew Brookes. Dean mentioned that Andrew goes somewhat under the radar, but his dedication to the band and contribution to his section are just some of the reasons choosing him.

Next up was Most Improved Player of the Year. Dean said that with a band full of such talent it becomes harder each year to decide upon the winner of this award, but Vicky Rowlands on Solo Horn came out on top. Well respected within her section as well as among the rest of the band and with the addition of taking on extra responsibilities within the band are what made her stand out for the prize this year.

After some reminiscing over some of the highlights through the year and a good old laugh and cry at some certain members expense we got round to the awards as voted by the whole band.

With 7 individuals receiving a vote for each of the prizes, there could only be one winner. This years Players Player of the Year was presented to our Solo Euphonium player Matthew Reasbeck. Matthew has only been back in the band for 12 months but has made a significant impact on the band in the rehearsal room, at the bar and on stage. Back in March at the Yorkshire Regionals Matthew was awarded the Best Soloist prize. 8 months later at the latest Contest outing for the band, Matthew once again picked up the Best Instrumentalist prize.

Finally the Bandsperson of the Year went to Sarah Brookes. Sarah took over the thankless job of Band Secretary at the beginning of the year, but hard work and dedication to the role along with the dedication within cornet section the award was truly well deserved.

With 2016 being the bands most successful year in its long history in which they were crowned Nation Champions, it was always going to be hard to top it. But with a trio of podium finishes, the first taste of the 1st section and to round it of with the bands first win in the Second section, the band has the tough task to continue into 2018 with more success. Challenge accepted.

Comments are closed.